

## Valparaiso C. C. Recap: June 13, 2022

The MSGA's third tournament of the 2022 season (second played with Klinger Lake cancellation) was held at Valparaiso C. C. in Valparaiso, IN on June 13th.

The Tournament was the ninth time the MSGA has played at the course over the years. The golf course is celebrating its 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2022. Valparaiso is a challenging layout with a mix of several difficult and a few less difficult holes. The many hazards are mostly in the form of tree lined fairways, sand bunkers and difficult rough. The small greens also make it tough to hit a lot of greens.

The weather was hot with temperatures around 90 degrees and forecasted storms that held off until later in the evening allowing play to be completed.

The turnout was a field with 107 players (104 who finished). The players played in three regular tee flights and two forward tee flights.

The golf course was in wonderful condition but with thick rough in some areas. The greens were fast, especially for those putts from the wrong side of the pin. The tree lined fairways required accurate tee shots on many holes.

The course played extremely difficult with only 3 players besting par with their net scores while 8 others matched par of 72 (11% of players). For the 104 players, the average Gross score was 94.7 with 80.0 as the average Net score that was 8.0 shots over par of 72, well above normal. Normal average net scores are usually in the range of two to four over par. Most of the difficulty was from the hard fairways and fast greens.

In the Individual Medal competition (flights playing from Regular tees), Ed Meyer won the overall low gross with a three over par 75. Tom Spartz and Bill Ball followed with 76 and 77 respectively. No other players were able to break 80.

In the Net competition for Regular tee players, Paul Martindale was the low gross winner with a excellent net 67 followed by Ed Meyer and Jim Galt with a net 71's. Next in line were Tom Spartz, John Chamberlin, Phil Droege, Phil Weybright, Bob Lappin and Andy Dosmann with even par net 72's.

In Individual Medal competition (flights playing the Forward tees), Steve Seward and Steve Foli tied with eight over par 80's with Steve winning the tiebreaker. Jim Jeselnick was next with an 82 followed by Bill Murray and Dale Cramer with 84's.

In the Net competition for Forward tee players, Steve Seward and Dale Cramer tied with net 72's with Dale winning the award as Steve won the Low Gross award. Jim Jeselnick was next with a net 75, followed by Steve Foli, Ray Ginsburg, Walt Ailes, Brian Chalik and Larry Hackett with net 77's.

In the Skins competition, Phil Droege, Dale Cramer, Mike Lyons, and Bill Scully posted two skins each. In total there were 35 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contests, Bill Ball recorded the closest with a 4' 9" shot on hole number 17 in the Regular tee flights and Larry Hackett was closest with 1' 2" on hole number 17 playing in the Forward tee flights.

In the season long Brady Cup competition (two tournaments), Bill Murray continued the early lead with 350 points followed by Paul Martindale with 340 points and Jeff Starr with 320.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.