

## Tippecanoe Lake C. C. Recap: June 27, 2022

The MSGA's fourth tournament of the 2022 season (third played with Klinger Lake cancellation) was held at Tippecanoe Lake C. C. in Leesburg, IN on June 27th.

The Tournament was the tenth time the MSGA has played at the course over the years. Tippy Lake is a challenging par 70 layout that requires many approach shots to uphill greens. The course has made many upgrades the last few years including rebuilding sand traps and completely replacing greens two years ago.

The weather was great for golf with temperatures in the mid-80's and sunny with a few high clouds.

The turnout was a field with 97 players. The players played in three regular tee flights and two forward tee flights.

The golf course was in wonderful condition. The greens were generally fast, especially for those putts from above of the pin. Several tree lined fairways required accurate tee shots. The large greens left many long putts.

Twenty-one players bested par and seven others matched par (29% of the 97 players) with their net scores. For the 97 players, the average Gross score was 87.9 with 72.9 as the average Net score that was 2.9 shots over par of 70. Normal average net scores are usually in the range of two to four over par.

In the Individual Medal competition (flights playing from Regular tees), Brad Bucher won the overall low gross with a three over par 73. Jerry Giolitto, Darren Stevens, Steve Cramer, and Cory Dennie followed with 77's. Three others were able to break 80.

In the Net competition for Regular tee players, Bruce Ruge was the low net winner with an excellent net 62 followed by Brad Bucher with a net 65. Next in line were Shawn Reed and Mike Kinsey with net 66's.

In Individual Medal competition (flights playing the Forward tees), Fred Hillis was the winner with the overall low gross with a 76. Kent Kaeppler and Steve Seward were next with 77's.

In the Net competition for Forward tee players, Bob Henrikson won with a nice overall net of 64, followed by Dale Cramer, Fred Hillis, and Ray Ginsburg with net 66's.

In the Skins competition, Rex Johnson, Jim Vance, and Bob Henrikson posted two skins each. In total there were 29 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contests, Eric Morris recorded the closest with a 2' 1" shot on hole number 13 in the Regular tee flights and Brian Chalik was closest with 10" on hole number 11 playing in the Forward tee flights.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Bill Murray continued the early lead with 470 points followed by Paul Martindale with 465 points and Jeff Starr with 435.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.