

MSGA 2022 Championship Recap: August 15-16, 2022

The 20th annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G. C. in Plymouth, IN on August 15th & 16th. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2022 season. The turnout was a field of 59 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including four guests. Five flights were required to accommodate the 30 teams. One entry withdrew the day before for a family emergency.

This was the ninth consecutive year playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has played the course other times for regular tournaments. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Director of Golf Chad Hutsell, did a great job in preparing the course and hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and lunches. Prior to the start, several players stayed overnight at the resort. Chad helped MSGA Director of Golf Tom Spartz with the scoring and shoot-out activities.

The weather was terrific with temps in the mid 70's with gentle breezes on Monday for the three match-play rounds and perfect with light breezes, high clouds, and temps in the upper 70's on Tuesday for the final two match-play rounds and the Championship shoot-out. The shoot-out was exciting in that the elimination of teams after each hole required a chip-off on the first hole and a chip-off on the final hole to determine the Champions.

For the 2022 MSGA Championship, the winners were Ed Meyer and Tom Smith who qualified by winning the Albatross Flight (A). Ed and Tom were repeat winners from 2021. Second place went to Mike Hoffman and Andy Dosmann who placed first in Eagle Flight (E) and who also finished second in 2021.

The final hole (the par 5-18th) was played and tied twice trying to determine the winners requiring a chip-off to determine the winning team. Tom's chip proved to be the winning shot. Other flight winners were Rich Wallace and Jon Phillips in the Birdie Flight (B), Dave Pendergast and Phil Droege in the Chip Flight (C) and Mike Kinsey and Dan Kaleth in the Drive Flight (D).

Congratulations to the flight winners and runners-ups and especially to Champions Ed Meyer and Tom Smith who will again have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as winners of the 2022 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies. All results of the Championship tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab. Pictures of the Flight winners and scoresheets for the Flight results will be added to the MSGA Championship tab.