

## Innsbrook C. C. Recap: July 11, 2022

The MSGA's fifth tournament of the 2022 season was held at Innsbrook C. C. in Merrillville, IN on July 11th. The tournament completed the first half of the 2022 MSGA season.

The Tournament was the ninth time the MSGA has played at the course over the years. Innsbrook is a challenging par 72 layout with three par-3's, three par-4's and three par-5's that requires many different approach shots to the greens.

The weather was overcast with threatening clouds for most of the day, but the sun came out for the last few holes and warmed up nicely. As it turned out the rain held off all day and the day ended as a very nice day for golf.

The turnout was a field with 108 players. The players played in three regular tee flights and two forward tee flights with 63 players on the regular tees and 45 on the forward tees.

The golf course was in great condition. The fairways were near perfect and the rough was very playable. The large greens were fast, especially for those putts from above of the pins. Several tree lined fairways required accurate tee shots.

Seventeen players bested par and seven others matched par (22% of the 108 players) with their net scores. For the 108 players, the average Gross score was 90.7 with 76.6 as the average Net score that was 4.6 shots over par of 72. The course played slightly more difficult as the normal average net scores are usually in the range of two to four over par.

In the Individual Medal competition (flights playing from Regular tees), Ed Meyer and Tim Swallers tied with even par 72's with Ed winning the tiebreaker. Bruce Brankle and Doug Schnick followed with 75's. Four others were able to break 80.

In the Net competition for Regular tee players, John Wendel was the low net winner with an excellent net 65 followed by Bruce Brankle and Jeff Starr with net 69's. Eight others were next with net 70's.

In Individual Medal competition (flights playing the Forward tees), Ken Dowdy and Steve Foli tied with 81's with Ken winning the tiebreaker. Steve Seward, Don Herakovich and Chuck Zimmerman followed with 82's.

In the Net competition for Forward tee players, Dan Cuson won with an overall net of 70, followed by Bob Henrikson with 71 and Ray Ginsburg and Paul Surowiec with net 72's.

In the Skins competition, Phil Weybright, Ken Dowdy, and Steve Seward posted two skins each. In total there were 25 skins in the five flights. With the fewer than normal skins, the payouts were better.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contests, John Becking recorded the closest with a 3′ 3″ shot on hole number 4 in the Regular tee flights and Paul Surowiec was closest with 4′ 8″ on hole number 7 playing in the Forward tee flights.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Paul Martindale took over the lead with 595 points followed by Bill Murray and Jeff Starr with 570 points.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.