

## Tippecanoe Lake C. C. Recap: June 29, 2020

The MSGA's fourth tournament of the 2020 season was held at Tippecanoe Lake C. C. in Leesburg, IN on June 29<sup>th</sup>.

The Tournament was the ninth time the MSGA has played at the course over the years. Tippy Lake is a wonderful private country club course with a variety of difficult holes. Many holes are lined with large trees providing a beautiful setting for a golf course.

The weather was very warm with temperatures near 90 with high humidity.

The turnout was a solid number, probably affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, but a nice number with 100 players playing in three regular tee flights and two forward tee flights.

The golf course was in great condition with perfect fairways and greens. The course had made updates to the sand traps, drainage, and cart paths a few years ago and the conditions were perfect. The greens were quite fast and as someone said, "I didn't have a straight putt all day. The rough was not particularly long, but difficult to recover to the fairways. Plenty of large trees and tough greens made the course a real challenge for the members.

The course played difficult with only fifteen players besting par with their net scores while one other matched par of 70 (16% of players). For the 100 players, the average Gross score was 91.7 with 75.8 as the average Net score that was 5.8 shots over par of 70. The 5.8 net shots over par is a little higher than the normal of three to five over par.

In the Individual Medal competition (flights playing from regular tees), Steve Stone posted the overall low gross with one over par 71. He was followed by John Hampton with 73, Tom Knoll with 74 and Ted Chittum and Kevin Shidler with 76's.

In the Net competition, Steve Stone also led the field with an eight under par net 62, but the award went to Dale Cramer with a net 66 as awards are limited to one per player. John Hampton and Bill Ketcham also had a net 66's but both won low gross awards. They were followed by Kent Naylor and Tom Knoll with net 67's.

In Individual Medal competition for flights playing the forward tees, John Behee and Fred Hillis tied with 74's for the overall low gross award with John winning the tie-breaker. Next in line was Bill San Giacomo with 79.

In the Net competition, John Behee also lead with a nine under par net 61 followed by Fred Hillis with 66 and Robert Hazzard with 67, but all won low gross awards. Next in line were John Graft,

Bill San Giacomo and John Farron with net 71's with John Graft winning the low net award on tiebreakers.

In the Skins competition, Gil Vayhinger, Bill San Giacomo, and Dave Pera all posted multiple skins with two skins each. In total, there were 32 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Tom Knoll recorded the closest with a 2' 8" shot on the 152 yard hole number 8 in the Regular tee flights and Harvey King was closest with 4' 3" on hole number 13 playing from 128 yards in the Forward tee flights.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Dale Cramer continued his early season lead with 520 points followed by Chuck Blair and Ray Ginsburg with 460 each.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.