

## Innsbrook C. C. Recap: July 13, 2020

The MSGA's fifth tournament of the 2020 season was held at Innsbrook C. C. in Merrillville, IN on July 13<sup>th</sup>. This was the only Guest Day for 2020 with 13 guests playing (including five without handicaps who did not participate in awards).

The Tournament was the eighth time the MSGA has played at the course over the years. Innsbrook is a great private country club course with a variety of holes including six par 3's, six par 4's and six par 5's. The course has many holes lined with large oak trees and eight holes which cross the creek dividing the course to provide a beautiful setting for a golf course.

The weather was perfect with temperatures in the mid-70's with light winds.

The turnout was a solid number of 107 including guests. The 107 players played in three regular tee flights and two forward tee flights.

The golf course was in wonderful condition with perfect fairways and greens. The large greens were quite fast and especially for the many downhill putts. With plenty of trees, keeping the ball in the fairways was a must.

The course played quite easy with 35 players besting par with their net scores while twelve others matched par of 72 (44% of players). For the 102 awards players, the average Gross score was 86.7 with 72.8 as the average Net score that was only 0.8 shots over par of 72. The 0.8 net shots over par is much lower than the normal of three to five over par.

In the Individual Medal competition (flights playing from regular tees), John DeVaney, Jerry Giolitto and Jim Galt tied for the overall low gross with one over par 73's. John won the overall award on the tiebreaker. Guest Glenn Guth and John Hampton followed with 74's and Kevin Shidler posted 75.

In the Net competition for regular tee players, Mark Joseph and Jim Galt tied with super rounds of net 59 (13 under par of 72) with Mark winning the award on the tiebreaker. They were followed by John DeVaney with net 62, Gil Vayhinger with net 64 and Dave Pendergast with a net 65.

In Individual Medal competition for (flights playing the forward tees), Fred Hillis won with a 75 followed by Bill Gustin and Jack Enright with 80's and Ray Ginsburg with 81.

In the Net competition for forward tee players, Bob Henrikson led with net 66, but the award went to Dave Dunn with net 67 as Bob won the gross award in his flight with 83. Jack Enright also shot net 67, but also won the gross award in his flight with 80. Next in line were John Kaylor with net 68 and Mike Shikany, Rich Dobis and Bill Hehemann with net 69's.

In the Skins competition, Rich Dobis recorded three while Doug Schnick, John Hampton, Matt Kohut, Mark Joseph, Rob McFarland, Bill Gustin and Roland Pereira posted two skins each.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Mark Joseph recorded the closest with a 2' 8" shot on the 128 yard hole number 7 in the Regular tee flights and Pat Glossinger was closest with 1' 0" on hole number 16 playing from 127 yards in the Forward tee flights.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Ray Ginsburg has taken the lead with 585 points followed by John Hampton and Dale Pflughaupt with 565 points each. Seven others are within 50 points of the leader.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results and Brady Cup pages.