

MSGA 2018 Championship Recap: August 19-20, 2019

The 17th annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G. C. in Plymouth, IN on August 19th & 20th. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2019 season. The turnout was 70 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including ten guests. Six flights were required to accommodate the 35 teams.

This was the sixth consecutive year playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has played the course other times for regular tournaments. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Head-Pro Chad Hutsell, did a great job in preparing the course and hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and nice lunches. Prior to the start, several players stayed overnight at the resort.

The weather was sunny with temps in the mid 80's on Monday for the three match-play rounds and overcast on Tuesday for the final two match-play rounds. Unfortunately, radar showed threatening thunderstorms with lighting arriving soon after. Since completing the normal shoot-out would have been at significant risk, a chip-off with the six flight winning teams was held from approximately 25 yards on hole #18 in place of the shoot-out.

For the 2019 MSGA Championship, the chip-off winners and overall champions were Dave Pendergast and his guest, Phil Droege who qualified for the shootout as winners of the Chip Flight (C). Second place went to Kevin Shidler and Fred Hillis who placed first in the Birdie Flight (B). Other flight winners were Doug Schnick and Mike Martin in the Albatross Flight (A), Rich Wallace and Bruce Ruge in the Drive Flight (D), Gary Drutis and Mark Joseph in the Eagle Flight (E) and John Spensley and guest Chuck Spensley in Fairway Flight (F).

In the chip-off, both players from each team shot with the total combined distance for each team used to determine first and second places. The winning team of Dave Pendergast and Phil Droege placed first with a combined distance of 18 feet, 6 inches. Kevin Shidler and Fred Hillis were second with a combined distance of 23 feet, 10 inches.

Congratulations to the flight winners and runners-ups and especially to Champions Dave Pendergast and Phil Droege who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2019 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at South Bend C. C. All results of the Championship tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship resulted in significant changes to the overall Brady Cup standings. Steve Stone held first place with 1360 points. Kevin Shidler with 1330 points moved to second and Dave Pendergast with 1285 points moved to third with Bruce Fisher (1175) and Bruce Ruge (1130) rounding out the top five places. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.