

## Rock Hollow G. C. Recap: August 6, 2018

The MSGA's seventh tournament of the 2018 season was held at Rock Hollow G. C. in Peru, IN on August 6th.

The Tournament was the second time the MSGA has played at Rock Hollow G. C. Rock Hollow is a relative new golf course that was built in 1995 in an old stone quarry.

The weather was very warm with temperatures in the low 90's, high humidity and only sometimes gentle breezes. The golf course was in decent shape considering the lack of rain. The course was marked with drop areas.

The turnout was low even for an early August event with only 83 players.

The highlight of the day was Roland Pereira's hole-in-one on the 110-yard hole number 4. It was the first hole-in-one in MSGA competition since 2014.

The course played pretty normal overall with handicaps as 29 players bested par of 72 while two others matched par (37% of players). For the 83 players, the average Gross score was 92.4 with 74.1 as the average Net score, just 2.1 shots over par of 72.

In the Individual Medal competition, Steve Stone led the field with a four over par 76 followed closely by John Hulewicz with 77 and John Huffman, Steven Schwier and Roger Stevens with 78's.

In the Net competition, Steve Kahn and Mike Shikany tied with excellent net 66's with Steve winning the tie-breaker. They were followed by John Hulewicz, Kent Kaeppler and Fred Hillis with net 68's. Eleven other shot net 70 or better. In Flight E (played from the forward tees), Jim Hutton won with a fine net 62 and was followed by Clyde Compton (65) and Bob McFadden (66). Five others shot nets in the 60's.

In the Skins competition, Mike Shikany recorded three skins while Steve Kahn, Dave Pendergast and Dale Cramer posted two each. In total, there were 35 skins in the five flights. Of course, in the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Roland Pereira's hole-in-one was the best of the day.

Congratulations to Roland Pereira for his hole-in-one and to the award winners in all the flights. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Jon Huffman continues in first place with 1205 points, followed very closely by Steve Stone with 1195 points. Brian Chalik remained third with 1165. Roland Pereira (1070) and John Hulewicz (1050) round out the top five positions.