

## MSGA 2016 Championship Recap: August 22-23, 2016

The 14th annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G.C. in Plymouth, IN on August 22nd & 23rd. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2016 season. The turnout was 60 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including four guests. Five flights were required to accommodate the 30 teams.

The weather for both days was perfect with temperatures in the low 80's with low humidity, a few clouds, light breezes and plenty of sunshine. In the prior week, the course received over 12 inches of rain, so the course was very wet in many places and cart traffic was restricted on some holes.

This was the fourth consecutive year playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has played the course other times for regular tournaments. Since the golf course was very wet, the course played very long with little role off the tees. Even with the wet conditions, the greens were in excellent shape and were very smooth and fast. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Head-Pro Chad Hutsell, did a great job in preparing the course and hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and nice lunches. Several players stayed overnight at the resort.

For the 2016 MSGA Championship, the shootout winners and overall champions were John Spensley and John's guest Mike Sandridge who qualified for the shootout as winners of the Drive Flight (D). Second place in the shootout went to Abe Ismail and Peter MacEntee who placed first in the Eagle Flight (E). Other flight winners were Joe Juday and Bill Murray in the Albatross Flight (A), Don Herakovich and Dave St. Clair in the Birdie Flight (B) and Gary Drutis and Mark Joseph in the Chip Flight (C).

The playoff was exciting from start to finish. The team of Don Herakovich and Dave St. Clair was eliminated on the first shootout hole. Gary Drutis and Mark Joseph were eliminated on the second hole after both hit into the water. Joe Juday and Bill Murray were eliminated on the third hole after failing to make par. John Spensley and Mike Sandridge won on the fourth playoff hole over Abe Ismail and Peter MacEntee when Mike Sandridge sank a short birdie putt.

Congratulations to all the flight winners and especially to John Spensley and Mike Sandridge who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2016 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at Morris Park C. C. All results of the tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship resulted in significant changes to the overall Brady Cup standings. John Spensley moved from seventh to first with his Shootout win (1495 points). Bill Gustin and Bob McFadden are tied for second with 1325 points each. Art Yagodnik (1290 points) and Bob Henrikson (1265 points) round out the top five positions. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.