

## Maplecrest C. C. Recap: May 18, 2016

The MSGA's first tournament of the 2016 season, the John Pavlos Classic, was held at Maplecrest C. C. in Goshen, IN on May 18th.

Opening day 2016 was a great success with a total of 112 players participating. Seven new members played in their first MSGA tournament, with several winning awards. Four returning members also played.

The weather was near perfect for golf with sunshine all day and an occasional gentle breeze. Warm temperatures in the mid 60's were an unexpected change from the prior few days. The golf course was in excellent condition. Some of the roughs were quite thick. The greens were not particularly fast, but putted true. Downhill putts required a good touch. Local knowledge was useful on a few holes with hidden sand traps and a water hazard.

The course played fairly difficult as overall with handicaps, only 14 players bested par of 71 while six others matched par. For the 112 players, the average Gross score was 93.9 with 76.6 as the average Net score, 5.6 shots over par of 71.

In the Individual Medal competition, Bryan Boettger and Jerry Giolitto led the field with four over par 75's. Bryan won the overall award by winning the tiebreaker on the seventh handicap hole. They were followed by Roger Stevens with a 78 and five others who posted 79's; Don Herakovich, Kent Naylor, Doug Chapman, Tim Holmes and John Hampton.

In the Net competition, Rick Ogle was the overall low-net winner with a solid five under par net 67 followed by Don Herakovich with a net 68. Next in line were Kent Naylor, Roger Stevens, Terry Brownell, Bob Henrickson and Dale Pflughaupt all with net 69's. The low-net winner in Flight E (played from the forward tees) was Wayne Slabach with a fine net 67, followed by John Behee with 70 and Norm Michaels with 71. Four others posted net 73's.

In the Skins competition, Bruce Fisher was the only multiple winner with two skins in C Flight. In total, there were 28 skins in the five flights. In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Lynn Haverstock's shot on the 141 yard Hole #6 that finished 3" 11" from the hole was the best of the day.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Bryan Boettger, Jerry Giolitto, Rick Ogle and Wayne Slabach for their fine rounds. The complete list of award winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, John Hampton and Bob McFadden have the early lead with 400 points each followed by Terry Brownell, Bob Henrikson and Tim Holmes. The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.