

## Blackthorn G. C. Recap: July 25, 2016

The MSGA's sixth tournament of the 2016 season was held at Blackthorn G. C. in South Bend, IN on July 25th.

The turnout was good with exactly 100 players. It was a nice field for a late-July tournament.

The day's weather was near perfect with temperatures in the 80's and nice breezes. As for the golf course, it was in excellent condition. The fairways were in great condition and the greens were also in excellent shape, providing for plenty of fast putts. With the overall condition of the course and nice weather, there were many fine scores.

Overall with handicaps, 33 players (33%) bested par of 72 while 9 others (9%) matched par. For the 100 players, the average Gross score was 91.9 with 73.7 as the average Net score, only 1.7 shots over par.

In the Individual Medal competition, Bryan Boettger finished with steady two over par 74 that included one birdie and three bogies. Tom Knoll followed closely with a 75 and John Hampton recorded 76. Kent Naylor, Fran Laliberte and Joe Simanski all posted 78's.

In the Net competition for Flights A-D, Dan DeMartinis was the leader with an excellent net 61 that included two net eagles and ten net birdies. He was followed by Mark Joseph with a net 65 followed by Paul Surowiec and Bruce Neulieb with net 66's. Joe Simanski, Greg Scheetz and Vern Sieb recorded net 67's.

The low-net leader in Flight E (played from the forward tees) was Wayne Slabach with a nice net 64. He was followed by Bill Root with a net 68 and Jerry Gerard with a net 71. Fourteen players played in Flight E (players whose age plus handicap equals 95).

In the Skins competition, there were four multiple winners with John Brindley, Wally Trzop, Art Yagodnik and Jerry Stayton each posting two. In total, there were 31 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, the best of the day was Rich Wallace's shot that finished just one foot eight inches away on the 104 yard Hole #16.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Bryan Boettger and Dan DeMartinis for their excellent rounds in winning the Low Gross and Low Net awards. Also to Wayne Slabach for his nice round to win Flight E. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Bill Gustin (980 points) moved into first place over Bob McFadden (935) who holds a very small lead over Bob Henrikson (930) for second place. Jim Pawlik and Art Yagodnik (995 points each) round out the top five places. Several others are still in the race for the top five positions. The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.