

## Whittaker Woods G. C. Recap: May 18, 2015

The MSGA's first tournament of the 2015 season, the John Pavlos Classic, was held at Whittaker Woods G. C. in New Buffalo, MI on May 18th.

Opening day 2015 was originally planned for May 11<sup>th</sup> but was rescheduled because of weather. Unfortunately only 85 players were able to make the rescheduled date after 106 were signed up for the original date. Eleven new members played in their first MSGA tournament, with several winning awards. Three returning members also played.

The weather was near perfect with plenty of sunshine and gentle breezes. Warm temperatures in the high 70's made for a great day of golf. For the early season, the golf course was in great condition with the fairways very nice and the rough quite lush. The large greens were consistent and especially difficult for the many downhill putts.

The course did not play difficult and overall with handicaps, 30 players bested par of 72 while five others matched par. For the 85 players, the average Gross score was 91.9 with 74.1 as the average Net score, just 2.1 shots over par of 72.

In the Individual Medal competition, Tom Kroll led the field with an excellent even-par 72 that included two birdies and two bogeys. Tom was followed by Joe Simanski and Fred Mitchell with 77's. Kent Naylor recorded a 78.

In the Net competition, Rich Stalbrink was the overall low-net winner with a great 11 under par 61. Ray Brosseau followed with a net 63. Mike Lake and Bruce Ruge were two shots back with 65's while six others shot posted 66's. The low-net winner in Flight E (played from the forward tees) was Norm Drenten with a net 64, followed by Bill Root with 69 and Bruce Wargo with 70.

In the Skins competition, Kent Naylor, Rich Stalbrink and Norm Drenten were multiple winners with two skins each. In total, there were 25 skins in the five flights. In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Rick Ogle's shot on the 111 yard Hole #4 finished just one inch from the hole.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Tom Knoll for his fine round and Rick Ogle's "close but no cigar" Closest-to-the-Pin award. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Kent Naylor (555 points) and Ed O'Conor (535) have the early lead based on each recruiting three new members for 2015. Bob Henrikson and Jim Pawlik are tied for third (320), while Greg Dupont, Don Herakovich and Dave Pendergast are tied for fifth (300). The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.