

## Tippecanoe Lake C. C. Recap: June 22, 2015

The MSGA's fourth tournament of the 2015 season was held at Tippecanoe Lake C. C. in Leesburg, IN on June 22nd. All the sand traps and the areas around the greens were rebuilt since the last MSGA tournament in 2013, providing a wonderful golf experience.

The turnout was 91 players, a total less than previous Tippy Lake tournaments.

The day's weather started out as overcast and very hot and humid. After playing eight or nine holes, rain forced a delay which lasted about an hour and half. When play resumed, the weather was cooler and less humid. Before the delay, the golf course was in excellent condition. The fairways were in perfect condition providing plenty of good lies. The rough was thick, but very playable. The greens were consistent and very quick, especially difficult for the downhill putts. After the delay, the course was very wet, but still playable.

Overall with handicaps, 28 players bested par of 70 while four others matched par. Even with the weather delay, all players were able to finish their rounds. The average Gross score was 91.0 with 73.1 as the average Net score, 3.1 shots over par of 70.

In the Individual Medal competition, Jeff Miller led the field with a one over par 71 that included two birdies and three bogeys. Steve Seward and Bryan Boettger followed with 74's. Nine other players were able to break 80.

In the Net competition, Jeff Miller and Steve Seward tied with seven under par net 63's with Steve winning the tie breaker. Next in line were Kelly Donahoe with a net 64 and Taylor Seward with a 65. Jeff Starr and John Behee followed net 66's.

The low-net winners in Flight E (played from the forward tees) were Biff Geiss and Robert Rogers with net 68's. Biff won the first place award by winning the tiebreaker. Dick Sierra and Ken Everett followed closely with net 69's. Fourteen players played in Flight E (players whose age plus handicap equals 95).

In the Skins competition, there were six multiple winners with two skins each. Those players were Bryan Boettger, Mike Price, Dan DeMartinis, Ken Williams, Biff Geiss and Norm Michaels. In total, there were 30 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, the best of the day was Bill SanGiacomo's shot that rolled to within ten inches on the 127 yard Hole #13.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Jeff Miller, Steve Seward, Kelly Donahoe, and Taylor Seward for their fine rounds. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results page. In the season long Brady Cup competition, Kent Naylor continues to lead with 940 points followed by Ed O'Conor with 860 points and Bob Henrikson with 640. Greg Dupont, Bruce Fisher and Rich Stalbrink are tied for fourth with 635 points. The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.