

MSGA 2015 Championship Recap: August 17/18, 2015

The 13th annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G.C. in Plymouth, IN on August 17 & 18th. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2015 season. The turnout was 58 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including three guests. Five flights were required to accommodate the 29 teams.

The weather for Monday started out very warm and humid for the first two matches with much of the time spent watching storm clouds pass by. A rain delay of more than an hour interrupted the third match, but play was completed. Additional overnight rains made the course very wet for Tuesday's matches and the Shootout, but temperatures were much more comfortable with lower humidity and tournament play was completed.

This was the third consecutive year playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has played the course three other times for regular tournaments. The golf course was in very good condition with the fairways and greens in excellent shape. The greens were very nice for the earlier matches and very soft after the rains on Monday afternoon and overnight. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Head-Pro Chad Hutsell, did a great job in hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and nice lunches. Several players stayed overnight at the resort.

For the 2015 MSGA Championship, the shootout winners and overall champions were Bob McFadden and Ed O'Conor who qualified for the shootout as winners of the Eagle Flight (E). Second place went to Bruce Neulieb and Jim Pawlik who placed first in the Chip Flight (C). Other flight winners were Tom Workman and Fred Mitchell in the Albatross Flight (A), Don Herakovich and Dave St. Clair in the Birdie Flight (B) and Bill Hehemann and Dick Weiss in the Drive Flight (D).

The playoff was exciting from start to finish. The team of Bill Hehemann and Dick Weiss was eliminated on the first shootout hole in a chip-off. Tom Workman and Fred Mitchell were eliminated on the second hole, also in a chip-off while Don Herakovich and Dave St. Clair were eliminated on the third hole. The fourth playoff hole was tied, requiring an additional playoff hole and then a chip-off to determine the 2015 Championship winners. Ed O'Conor's chip shot over a bunker proved to be the winning shot. As a side note, the first and second place teams play in the same foursome at regular events.

Congratulations to all the flight winners and especially to Bob McFadden and Ed O'Conor who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2015 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at Knollwood C. C. All results of the tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship resulted in significant changes to the overall Brady Cup standings. Ed O'Conor (1655 points) and Kent Naylor (1520) switched places in first and second. Bruce Neulieb (1385) and Jim Pawlik (1380) maintained third and fourth, while Bob McFadden (1365) jumped from 15th place to fifth, rounding out the top five places. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.