

Island Hills G. C. Recap: July 8, 2015

The MSGA's fifth tournament of the 2015 season was held at Island Hills G. C. in Centreville, MI on July 8th. The event was the second and last Guest day of the 2015 season. Seven guests joined the regular members for a total of 84 players.

The day's weather was overcast with temperatures in the upper 60's and light breezes making for a nice golfing day. It was the first tournament of the year not affected by rain in some fashion. The golf course was in excellent condition. The fairways were perfect, providing many of good lies. The rough was thick, but quite playable. The greens were very consistent and quick, especially difficult for the many sidehill and downhill putts.

Overall with handicaps, 19 players bested par of 72 while seven others matched par. The average Gross score was 92.7 with 75.5 as the average Net score, 3.5 shots over par of 72.

In the Individual Medal competition, Tom Knoll was the leader with a two over par 74 that included one birdie and three bogeys. Jeff Miller and Bryan Boettger followed with 76's. Only three other players were able to break 80.

In the Net competition, Al Marquardt, Bruce Ruge and Terry Jones tied with six under par net 66's with Al winning the tie breaker. Next in line were Jim Jonas, Bruce Neulieb and Jim Pawlik with net 67's. Five others were able to score net 68 or 69.

The low-net winners in Flight E (played from the forward tees) were John Behee and Ken Everett with net 66's. John won the first place award by winning the tiebreaker. John's round included a net 28 on the front nine. Norm Michaels and Norm Drenten followed with net 68 and 70, respectively. Thirteen players played in Flight E (players whose age plus handicap equals 95).

In the Skins competition, Dan DeMartinis was the lone multiple winner with two skins in Flight B. In total, there were 26 skins in the five flights.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, no one was really close, but the best of the day was Bruce Neulieb's shot that stopped at three feet, four inches on the 123 yard Hole #12.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Tom Knoll, Al Marquardt for their fine rounds and John Behee for his great 28 net on the front nine. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results page.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Kent Naylor continues to lead with 1040 points followed by Ed O'Conor with 960 points. Jim Pawlik and Bruce Ruge are tied for third with 785 points, followed by Bruce Fisher with 765 points rounding out the top five places. The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.