

## MSGA 2013 Championship Recap: August 19/20, 2013

The eleventh annual MSGA Championship was held at Swan Lake Resort G.C. in Plymouth, IN on August 19-20th. The event was also the seventh of the MSGA's 2013 season. The turnout was a fine 60 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including one guest. Five flights were required to accommodate the 30 teams.

The weather was perfect both days with temperatures in the mid 80's, plenty of sunshine and light breezes. This was the first time playing the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake, although the MSGA has played the course three other times for regular tournaments. The golf course was in beautiful condition with the fairways and rough in excellent shape. The greens were perfect with enough softness to hold good approach shots and very smooth for quick, but true putts. The greens were probably the best for any of our past Championships. The staff at Swan Lake, led by Head-Pro Chad Hutsell, did a great job in hosting the championship that included two continental breakfasts and lunches. We look forward to playing Swan Lake again for the 2014 Championship.

For the 2013 MSGA Championship, the shootout winners and overall champions were Dave Pendergast and Harvey King who qualified for the shootout as winners of the Medinah Flight (D). Second place went to Rob Hocevar and Eldon Miller who placed first in the Pebble Beach Flight (B). Other flight winners were Vern Sieb and John Brindley in the Stonehenge Flight (A), Roger Farley and Don Christensen in the Crooked Stick Flight (C) and Bob Macmahon and Bruce Ruge in the Bethpage Flight (E).

The playoff was exciting from start to finish. Vern Sieb and John Brindley were eliminated on the first hole in a chip-off by less than an inch. Bob Macmahon and Bruce Ruge were eliminated on the second hole while Roger Farley and Don Christensen exited on the third hole. The fourth playoff hole was tied, requiring an additional hole to determine the winners. Dave Pendergast made a short par putt on the extra playoff hole after Eldon Miller and Rob Hocevar missed putts to extend the playoff.

Congratulations to all the flight winners and especially to Dave and Harvey who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2013 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at Valparaiso C. C. All results of the tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship event resulted in a shakeup in the overall Brady Cup standings. Dave Pendergast (1620 points) added to his first place lead and now seems to have a lock on the 2013 Brady Cup award. With the Championship win, his lead has grown to 420 points over Ed O'Conor who remains second with 1200 points. Dave's Championship partner, Harvey King moved into a tie with Vern Sieb for third place with 1150 points. Bruce Fisher rounds out the top five with 1125 points. Twelve new players jumped into the top 25 after the Championship. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.