

## Bent Oak C. C. Recap: August 28, 2013

The MSGA's eighth tournament of the 2013 season was held at Bent Oak G. C. in Elkhart, IN on August 28th.

The turnout was very good for a late August tournament with 87 players participating on a very good golf course. The course was the sight of the very first MSGA tournament in the 1999 season and the MSGA was glad to visit again.

The weather was a great day, except for the temperatures were in the upper 80's. A few clouds and light breezes made the day enjoyable. The golf course was in excellent condition. Overall, the course played pretty normal with approximately 30% of the field beating or matching par of 72.

Overall with handicaps, 16 players bested par of 72 while 10 others were able to match par. For the 87 players, the average Gross score was 93.0 with 75.7 as the average Net score, 3.7 shots over par.

In the Individual Medal competition, Jerry Giolitto posted a fine two over par 74. Jerry's round included two birdies and four bogies. Kent Naylor was second with a 78, four shots back. X. Gartland, Don Herakovich and Bill SanGiacomo rounded out the first five places, all with 79's.

In the Net competition, Bill SanGiacomo was the overall winner with an excellent 65. Bill's round was a mixed bag that included 2 net eagles, 7 net birdies, 6 net pars, 2 bogies and only 1 double-bogey. John Behee was second with a net 66. X. Gartland, Kent Naylor, Bob Henrikson, Greg Dupont and Bruce Ruge followed with net 68's.

In the Skins competition, there were no multiple winners and only 17 in total, the fewest in several years. There were only two skins in Flight A, thus they proved to be quite valuable. Jim Jeselnick, Neil Carlson and Norm Drenten each posted net 1's for their skins.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Bill SanGiacomo was closest with his shot stopping three feet six inches on #11. Neil Carlson was next within five feet, two inches on #8.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights and especially to Bill SanGiacomo (you may have noticed his name throughout this recap) and Jerry Giolitto (low gross) for their excellent rounds. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Dave Pendergast continues to lead with 1720 points, nearly 400 points over his closest competition. Ed O'Conor continues to hold second with 1325 points, while Bruce Fisher moved up to third with 1255 points. Harvey King and Bruce Ruge are fourth and fifth with 1250 and 1230 points respectively. Several others are within striking distance of third place. The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.