Tippecanoe C. C. Recap: July 23, 2012

The MSGA's sixth tournament of 2012 was held at Tippecanoe C. C. in Monticello, IN on July 23rd. The tournament was also the second and final Guest Day event for the season. This was the MSGA's second visit to Tippecanoe and proved to be a great scoring course for the members.

The turnout was a solid 98, extending the good turnouts for all 2012 events. Included in the turnout were 14 guests.

The weather was extremely hot with temperatures near triple digits with high humidity. Only a slight breeze and a few passing clouds helped to make the day somewhat bearable. The golf course was in great condition considering the extreme drought in the area. Playing less than 6,000 yards, scores were very low with the lack of rough and the greens putting true. Overall with handicaps, 48 players bested par of 72 and 15 others matched par. The average net score for all players was an extremely low 70.8 strokes, 1.2 strokes under par.

The highlight of the day was Mike Robinson's hole-in-one on hole # 12 which played at 138 yards. It was Mike's first hole-in-one and he was thrilled. This was the third hole-in-one for the MSGA's 2012 season, following Wayne Slabach's ace on opening day at Maplecrest and Jerry Orman's at Warren Course at Notre Dame.

In the Individual Medal competition, Jerry Giolitto won Low Gross with an excellent one under par 71. Chuck Zimmerman was next with a 76, followed by X. Gartland with a 77. John Brindley, Fred Mitchell and Dave St. Clair each shot 78.

In the Low Net competition, Brian Chalik was the overall winner with an excellent 12 under par net 60. Gil Vayhinger was next with net 63, followed by Dan DeMartinis, Mike Robinson, Dave Levendoski, and Jack Niland, all with net 64's. Five other players carded 65's.

In the Skins competition, Norm Drenten and Brian Chalik were multiple winners with two skins each. In total, there were 27 skins in the four flights, four by guests.

In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, Mike Robinson's hole-in-one was obviously the best of the day.

Congratulations to Mike Robinson and award winners in all the flights and especially to Jerry Giolitto and Brian Chalik for winning the overall Low Gross and overall Low Net awards. A complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Bruce Fisher, with 1145 points, has taken over the lead from Dave Pendergast, who dropped to second with 1110 points. Mike Robinson jumped to third with 1065 points, with Mike Conway (950) and Gil Vayhinger (925) rounding out the top five places. The current Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.