MSGA 2012 Championship Recap:

The tenth annual MSGA Championship was held at Plymouth C.C. in Plymouth, IN on August 20-21st. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2012 season. The turnout was a solid 66 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including four guests. Six flights were required to accommodate the 33 teams.

The weather was perfect both days with temperatures in the mid 70's and plenty of sunshine and light winds. The golf course was in excellent condition with only a few spots damaged by the early summer drought. The greens were probably the best for any of our past Championships. The staff at Plymouth C.C. did a good job in hosting the championship including serving two continental breakfasts and lunches.

The shootout winners and overall champions were Bill Murray and Rick Ogle who qualified for the shootout as winners of the Chicago District Flight (A). Bill and Rick are the first repeat team winners of the championship after also winning the championship in 2010. Second place went to Dick Weiss and Bill Hehemann who placed first in the Point'O Woods Flight (D). The playoff was extended by a great chip shot on the 18th hole by Dick Weiss to force an extra playoff hole. Bill Murray was able to make a two putt par to secure the win on the first extra hole. Several great shots were made by both teams to remain in the shootout and make for the exciting finish.

Other flight winners were Rob Hocevar and Eldon Miller in the Olympia Fields Flight (B), Jim Fyock and Walt Ailes in the Lost Dunes Flight (C), Randy Decker and Carl Dywan in the Butler National Flight (E) and Jack Borowski and Mike Miles in the Medinah Flight (F).

Congratulations to all the flight winners and especially to Bill and Rick who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2012 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at Morris Park C. C. All results of the tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship event resulted in a shakeup in the overall Brady Cup standings. Mike Robinson moved to the top of the standings with 1455 points, a small 10 point advantage over Bruce Fisher with 1445 points and 45 points ahead of Dave Pendergast (1410). Mike Conway (1300) and Gil Vayhinger (1255) round out the top five with only two events remaining on the schedule. Ten new players moved into the Top 25 after the championship. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.