## <u>Tippecanoe Lake Recap: 06-27-2011</u>

The MSGA's fourth event of 2011 was held at Tippecanoe Lake C.C. in Leesburg, IN on June 27<sup>th</sup> and was the first of two guest days this season. The second is at Valparaiso CC on August 8<sup>th</sup>.

The turnout was an excellent 117 players including 13 guests. The weather was forecast for thunderstorms during the afternoon, but except for a few threatening clouds, the day turned out to be very good for golf with nice breezes and comfortable temperatures. The course was in excellent shape from tees to greens, including the rough. The toughest issue was the sloping greens which placed a premium on keeping approach shots below the pins. With the course in great shape and the greens putting true, scores were outstanding. Overall with handicaps, 24 players bested par of 70 and twelve others matched par.

In the Individual Medal competition, the overall low gross winner was Jerry Giolitto with a fine three over par 73. Jeff Starr was second with a 75, followed by Mike Gilpin with a 77. Jay Harrison and Ken Bisson were another shot back with 78's.

In the low net competition, Ken Everett and John Behee tied for first with excellent eight under par net 62's with Ken winning the tiebreaker. Steve Raymond followed with a 63 and Abe Ismail was next with a 64. Randy Decker and Jeff Starr were another shot back with net 65's.

In the Skins competition, Jerry Millard, Rich Ogle and Terry Jones were multiple winners with two skins each. In total, there were 27 skins in the four flights. In the Closest-to-the-Pin contest, John Becking's shot on the 155 yard 3rd hole was the closest at two feet, ten inches.

Congratulations to award winners in all the flights. The complete list of winners can be found on the Tournament Results tab. We enjoyed having 13 guests for the day and extend invitations to all to join the MSGA as permanent members.

In the season long Brady Cup competition, Bruce Fisher has the lead with 925 points. Steve Raymond has moved into second with 805 points followed by Art Bartholomew (790), Jim Jeselnick (765) and Gil Vayhinger (700). The Top-25 standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.