## MSGA 2011 Championship Recap:

The ninth annual MSGA Championship was held at Plymouth C.C. in Plymouth, IN on August 22-23rd. The event was also the eighth of the MSGA's 2011 season. The turnout was a record 70 players for the Two-man Best-Ball event including four guests. Six flights were required to accommodate the 35 teams.

The weather was nearly perfect both days except for the short shower during the shootout to determine the overall champions. The course was in good shape considering the hot temperatures and high humidity of the summer. The staff at Plymouth C.C. did a good job in hosting the championship including serving two continental breakfasts, two lunches and a very nice dinner before the awards presentations.

Overall, the shootout winners and overall champions were Don Herakovich and Dave St. Clair who were winners of the Medinah Flight (B). Second place went to Carl Dywan and Mike McMahon who placed first in the Butler National Flight (D). On the final hole, the par 5 18<sup>th</sup> hole, Dave made a great birdie putt of approximately twenty-five feet to secure the win. Several tough putts were made by both teams to remain in the shootout and make for an exciting finish.

Other flight winners were Bob Hart and Steve Kahn in the Lost Dunes Flight (A), Dave Pendergast and Harvey King in the Chicago Golf Flight (C), Mike Miles and Jack Borowski in the Olympia Fields Flight (E) and Doug Hepp and Ahmed Kashani in the Point O'Woods Flight (F).

Congratulations to all the flight winners and especially to Don and Dave who will have their names added to the permanent John J. Pavlos Memorial Championship trophy as the winners of the 2011 MSGA championship. They will also be awarded individual trophies at the final dinner event at Pottawattomie C. C. All results of the tournament are shown on the Tournament Results tab.

The Championship event resulted in a shakeup in the overall Brady Cup standings. With the win, Don and Dave both moved into the top ten in the standings. After eight events, Bruce Fisher with 1,585 points continues to enjoy a comfortable lead over Mike Gilpin (1440 points) and Carl Dywan (1410 points) with two events remaining. The current standings are shown on the Brady Cup tab.