About MSGA
Tournament Results
MSGA Championship
Brady Cup
Handicap Central
Photo Gallery
Resources & Links
Contact Us
Welcome to Michiana Seniors Golf Association

Next tournament - Opening Day 2019
Whittaker Woods G. C. New Buffalo MI
May 13, 2019

Member Notes:
2019 Schedule Announced See Below!!

The 2018 season ended on September 17th with the final tournament at Morris Park C.C. in South Bend.  It was a very warm fall day for golf and was enjoyed by 118 players.

Morris Park is a wonderful private golf course and was a perfect choice for the final tournament.   As always, the final tournament was a popular event that included lunch, dinner and extra awards and door prizes.

The season long Brady Cup awards were presented.  Steve Stone won the Brady Cup award for 2018 and was presented a replica of the Robert Brady permanent trophy which will have his name added to the list of past winners.  John Hulewicz and John Spensley finished second and third respectively.

The team of Mark Joseph and Gary Drutis were also recognized as winners of the MSGA Team Championship tournament.  Both will receive individual trophies signifying their success and will have their names added to the list of past winners on the permanent John Pavlos Memorial trophy.  Randy Kerns and Don Rogers were second place winners.

At the Annual Meeting of the membership, Taylor Seward and Walt Ailes were reelected to the Board of Directors for three-year terms.

The 2019 Season will be the twenty-first for the MSGA.  After the 2019 season, the MSGA will have played 191 tournaments on 52 different golf courses throughout the Michiana area.  The current membership stands at 181, up from 171 last year.  Over the years, 768 players have held membership in the MSGA. 

The Board wants to thank all the members who participated in this year’s tournaments and made 2018 another very successful year for the MSGA.  For the season, the average entries for the individual medal tournaments was 103 as compared to 102 for 2017.  Five of the last six years have seen average attendance over 100 entries per tournament.  In total, members played 907 rounds in the 2018 individual medal tournaments.  Eight players played in all the events including the Championship.

The Board of Directors has completed the 2019 tournament schedule which is listed below.  The schedule includes two courses new to the MSGA (Elcona C. C. and Legacy G. C.) and two guest days.  We are excited about the excellent courses on the schedule that includes five private golf courses and five excellent public courses.

Membership renewal forms with the 2019 schedule will be mailed out in early January for the 2019 season.  We hope that all current members will re-up for 2019.

We look forward to another great year in 2019. Be sure to invite your friends to join you for the 2019 Season!

2019 Tournament Schedule

May 13 Whittaker Woods G. C, New Buffalo MI (opening day)
May 29  Pottawattomie C .C., Michigan City IN
June 10 Pretty Lake G. C. (formerly Plymouth C.C.), Plymouth IN
(guest day)
June 24 Island Hills G .C., Centreville MI
July 8 Sand Creek C.C., Chesterton IN
July 22 Briar Ridge C.C., Schererville IN (guest day)
August 5  Elcona C. C., Bristol IN (new course)
August 19-20 Swan Lake Golf Resort, Plymouth IN
(MSGA Team Championship)
September 4 Legacy Hills G.C., LaPorte IN (new course)
September 16 South Bend C.C., South Bend IN (final event)

Opening Day - May 13, 2019!!

Visitors and Guests:

Welcome to the website of the Michiana Seniors Golf Association (MSGA).  The organization is made up of amateur senior players (age 50+) who love and enjoy the game of golf and a little competition and fellowship on some great golf courses.  The Michiana area includes Northern Indiana and Southwest Michigan.

If you are a senior amateur player who enjoys playing golf on some of Michiana’s premium golf courses, the MSGA is the organization for you.

All tournaments are flighted by handicap so players are playing against similarly skilled players.  An additional flight is available, if players choose, for players whose age plus handicap index equals 95.  The flight plays from the forward tees.  Click on the links to see more information about the MSGA.

If you have any questions or need more information about the MSGA, please contact Bruce Fisher (219-363-7466) or any of the Board of Directors.

Walt Ailes, President (219-462-0663)

2019 Information:

The 2019 season is the 21st year for the MSGA and includes ten tournaments played from May thru September.  Of the 2019 tournaments, five will be played at private country clubs and five at public golf courses throughout the Michiana area.  The season opens at Whittaker Woods G. C. in New Buffalo, MI on May 13th and closes at South Bend C. C. in South Bend on September 16th. 

In between, there are guest days at Pretty Lake G. C. (formerly Plymouth C. C.) in Plymouth, IN and Briar Ridge C. C in Schererville, IN and the MSGA Championship at Swan Lake Golf Resort in Plymouth, IN. 

There are two courses that are new venues for the MSGA in 2019.  Those tournaments will be played at Elcona C. C. in Bristol, IN on August 5th and at Legacy Hills G. C. in LaPorte, IN on September 4th.  After playing ten events in 2019, the total number of tournaments played in the 21-year history of the MSGA will be 191 on 52 different courses.

The Board of Directors is looking forward to another great year in 2019.

Welcome New Members for 2018 Season!

Rob McFarland Michigan City IN
Jim Kilbourne Granger IN
Pete Schmaltz North Judson IN
Dave Van Vactor Plymouth IN
Ryan Estes Angola IN
Tom Edwards LaPorte IN
Dan Kaminski LaPorte IN
Dave Heckaman South Bend IN
Dave Hochstetler Elkhart  IN
Tom Markel Union MI
Butch Markel Rockford MI
Jim Champer South Bend IN
Steve Cramer Cassopolis MI
Dale Cramer Plymouth IN
Dennis Kring Mishawaka IN
Bob Donaldson Schererville IN
Jon Huffman Plymouth IN
Woody Woodiwiss Oseola IN
Craig Juel Valparaiso IN
Chuck Blair Crown Point IN
Kevin Shidler Culver IN
Michael Lyons Crown Point IN
Steven Schwier Granger IN
Britt Murphey Elkhart  IN
Fred Hillis Culver IN
Jay Wilson Middlebury IN
Jeff Hartin Edwardsburg MI

Welcome Returning Members!

Jim Foglesong LaPorte IN
Steve Kahn Michigan City IN
Bob Hart LaPorte IN
Kevin Kolczynski Calumet City IL
Mark Timm Michigan City IN
Louie Slabach Shipshewana IN
Wayne Slabach Wolcottville IN
Phil Collins Lakeside MI
Mike Basney Edwardsburg MI
Jim Wade LaPorte IN
Mike Dexter Crown Point IN

Director of Golf Bill Murray (L) and Swan Lake Golf Pro Chad Hutsell (R) congratulating 2018 MSGA Championship Winners Mark Joseph
and Gary Drutis

Walt Ailes (R) congratulating Steve Stone as winner of the 2018 Brady Cup award
Walt Ailes (R) congratulating Steve Stone as winner of the 2018 Brady Cup award

Bob Brady (left) receiving Recognition Award for his 16 years of Dedicated Service and Leadership to the MSGA
Bob Brady (left) receiving Recognition Award for his 16 years of Dedicated Service and Leadership to the MSGA

Roland Pereira (R) receiving congratulations from Bill Murry on his Hole-in-One at Rock Hollow on August 6, 2018 (First MSGA Hole-in-One since 2014)

About MSGA | Join MSGA | Tournaments | Tournament Results | MSGA Championship
Brady Cup | Handicap Central | Photo Gallery | Resources & Links | Contact Us | Members
Privacy Statement | Legal Notice | Site Map | Home

Copyright © Michiana Seniors Golf Association
Web Site Design, Hosting & Maintenance By Catalyst Marketing / Worryfree Websites